Hope is here

We are in the midst of a global mental health crisis.

At Open Excellence, we fund independent research and innovative programs that are revolutionizing mental health outcomes.

Join us on our mission to create mental health care excellence for all.

The Problem

Falling Through The Cracks

Our current mental healthcare system is failing us. There’s an over-reliance on pharmaceuticals, while many who are suffering complex challenges are not getting the help they need.

Tragically, mental health challenges remain a deeply misunderstood aspect of the human experience. 

The Solution

We Can Be Better, Together

Our community of people with lived experience, philanthropists, scientists, innovators and care providers are committed to revolutionizing mental health outcomes. 

We invite you to join our mission to create better mental healthcare for all.

The Outcome


Imagine mental healthcare that honors the human experience and strives to cultivate our wellbeing. Imagine a world where all people have access to the care and support they need to achieve their potential.

This is what we are creating together. Will you join us?

Team Excellence


Team excellence

Board of Directors

Team Excellence

Scientific advisory COUNCIL

Our partners

Collective Effort

We are excited to be working alongside these innovative organizations.


The journey toward mental excellence.

February 2011

Founding Symposium

An international gathering of mental health leaders in response to Robert Whitaker’s book, Anatomy of an Epidemic – a game-changing exposé of the research on psychotropic drugs.

February 2011
September 2012

Adapting Open Dialogue

Adaption and study of the Open Dialogue approach to the U.S. and other cultures begins at UMass Medical School.

September 2012
March 2013

1st Independent Research Published

The first of a series of peer-reviewed research on the effects of long-term medication use, micronutrients, and psychosocial treatment innovations is published.

March 2013
March 2015

Hearing Voices R&D Launch

A multi-phase project to expand the Hearing Voices support network across the United States and conduct large-scale research into the key elements that make the approach work.

March 2015
October 2017

Competitive Innovation Grants

Five $100K grants were awarded for innovations in the treatment of children and youth, leadership development for people with lived experience, and an online curriculum on the history of the public mental health system.

October 2017
February 2019

International Research Collaboration

A multi-phase project to document how Open Dialogue is practiced around the world, followed by the study of culturally-appropriate adaptations and continuous improvement.

February 2019


Read our interactive annual reports.