Levels of Schizophrenia

by Albert E. Scheflen, MD

In his foreword, Murray Brown notes that this book reflects Scheflen’s effort to synthesize a framework for understanding schizophrenia. Scheflen applied general systems theory to schizophrenia and integrated what he considered to be eight levels from the societal to the molecular. The levels are: (1) society, (2) institutions, (3) family, (4) mother-infant dyads, (5) body states and emotions, (6) physiological subsystems, (7) neuropsychological organizations, and (8) neural microstructure and its metabolism. Scheflen believed that his schema would at last lead to an integration on several levels of the multi-faceted and often contradictory explanations offered by the puzzling problems of schizophrenia. Published posthumously.


Explore Books

sign up

Subscribe to receive periodic updates about our work.