Scientific Advisory

Judith Pentz, MD

Scientific Advisor, University of New Mexico
“Mindfulness, heart-focused approaches, nutrition and many other therapies are only now beginning to be understood and utilized. A foundation like Excellence that promotes this better understanding is to be highly valued.”

In psychiatric practice in Albuquerque for more than 20 years, Dr Pentz has recently enriched her practice to include a complementary/integrative focus. Her professional interests include individual therapy with a spiritual, in-depth focus, and the role of nutrition and nutriceuticals as options or additions to psychotropic medication. She has a special interest in working with the age group from 17-16 yo who have had first break episode psychoses to support the process with minimal medication exposure during that time and afterwards offer support to the families and the person affected.  She assists therapists, physicians and other professionals in developing therapeutic approaches, and currently focuses on a meditation-based project with teens having metabolic syndrome. As an assistant professor at UNM, Dr Pentz assists expansion of the Telehealth program with Native Americans through an agreement with the University and the Indian Health Service.  In the past, she has worked at UNM as adjunct faculty in school-based clinics and at Young Children’s Health Center in the early 1990s.

sign up

Subscribe to receive periodic updates about our work.